NYASP is proud to announce the Alfred and Mary Alfonso Scholarship Fund as a way to support the early career school psychologist. This scholarship, which was established by Dr. Vincent Alfonso in memory of his parents Alfred and Mary Alfonso, who believed in and supported the work of school psychologists.

The scholarship will award a one-year membership to NYASP in order to support early year school psychologists with resources, networking opportunities and mentorship. Up to two scholarships will be awarded each year.

Alfonso Scholarship Application

Chapter School Psychologist of the Year

These awards recognize excellence in the provision of school psychological services. They are presented by local chapters to individuals who spend the majority of their time (75%) providing direct services to children and their families. Contact your local chapter representative to nominate a school psychologist in your chapter for this award. Each local winner becomes the chapter nominee for the NYASP Frank Plumeau School Practitioner of the Year Award.

School Psychologist of the Year Nomination Form

Gil Trachtman Leadership in School Psychology Award

This award recognizes a school psychologist who has made a significant contribution to the field of School Psychology by virtue of teaching, research or supervision. Nominees may not spend the majority of their time providing direct services to children and their families but have made a significant impact to the field of school psychology in other ways.

Leadership Nomination Form

The deadline for nominations is August 15. Email documentation to jeannebgold@gmail.com and